Roles and responsibilities of the Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Chair: Bruce MacLennan

In fiscal year 2017–2018, the National Board of Directors was composed of 16 members made up of a diverse group of leaders who bring a variety of talents, experiences and expertise to the governance of the Nature Conservancy of Canada (NCC).

The Board’s primary role is to oversee management and ensure NCC’s affairs are being conducted in a way that achieves our objectives. Directors are elected by the Members of the Corporation for a term of three years, and are eligible for re-election provided that they have not served more than six consecutive years.

Governance, Nominating & Human Resources Committee

Chair: Bruce MacLellan (To September 14, 2017) | Ann Rooney (From September 15, 2017)

The Governance, Nominating & Human Resources Committee is responsible for the development and recommendation to the Board of a set of governance and nominating principles and practices applicable to NCC, including: conducting periodic reviews of the structure of the Board and its committees; reviewing the Board composition and recommending criteria to the Board with respect to size, diversity and skill mix; and conducting biannual evaluations of overall Board effectiveness.

Audit Committee

Chair: Ann Rooney (To September 14, 2017) | Dorothy Sanford (From September 15, 2017)

The Audit Committee assists the Board in overseeing NCC’s financial principles, controls and reporting. It monitors NCC’s financial performance and is responsible for monitoring any changes in the risk profile of NCC. All Audit Committee members are financially literate, as defined by the Ontario Securities Commission.

Conservation Committee

Chair: Eliza Mitchell (To September 14, 2017) | Alan Latourelle (From September 15, 2017)

The Conservation Committee provides guidance to and oversight of NCC’s science, securement and stewardship business activities, and reports to the Board on these matters.

Fundraising & Marketing Committee

Chair: Elana Rosenfeld

The Fundraising & Marketing Committee provides advice to management on the annual marketing and fundraising plans in support of NCC’s strategic plan, and reports to the Board on marketing and fundraising efforts.

Investment Committee

Chair: Robert Rabinovitch

The Investment Committee assists the Board in overseeing the policies that govern the investment of NCC’s financial assets. It monitors the performance of all short- and long-term funds held by NCC, such as the endowment funds, as well as the performance of external investment managers and advisers. Finally, it ensures that funds received and held by NCC are invested in accordance with any donor restrictions or wishes.

Ad hoc Campaign Advisory Committee (As of February 16, 2018)

Co-chairs: Bruce MacLellan and Mike Pedersen (As of February 16, 2018)

Executive Management Group

  • John Lounds, President & CEO
  • Bob Alexander, Board Corporate Secretary
  • Michael Paskewitz, Executive Manager and Assistant Corporate Secretary
  • Linda Stephenson, Vice-president, Operations
  • Michael Bradstreet, Senior Vice-president, New Conservation Strategies
  • Jane Gilbert, Vice-president, Public Affairs and Communications
  • Mark Rittinger, Vice-president, Development & Marketing
  • Stewart Hardacre, Vice-president, Corporate Services
  • Lisa McLaughlin, Vice-president, Conservation Planning and Policy