EN | FR
NCC Logo

TAKE FLIGHT WITH THE NATURE CONSERVANCY OF CANADA

Annual Report 2017-2018

In 2018, the Nature Conservancy of Canada joined with partners to celebrate a new conserved area along the Birch River in Alberta. This area has now created the largest stretch of contiguous protected boreal forest on the planet. Learn more about this conservation success or skip ahead to read our 2017-2018 Annual Report.

This experience is best viewed in Chrome or Firefox.

TAKE FLIGHT WITH THE NATURE CONSERVANCY OF CANADA

A bird’s-eye view of 2017-2018

Our bird's-eye view is best viewed on desktop. To view our year in review, please click below.

NCC Logo

Take Flight with the Nature Conservancy of Canada

A bird’s-eye view of 2017-2018

Report to our donors.

Please scroll using your mouse or trackpad to take flight with NCC.

New sights set on conservation.

It’s time to talk boldly about the tangible benefits nature provides, and the urgency and importance of protecting it. Nature is Canada’s gift to the world and we have an opportunity, perhaps more than any other country, to make conservation count. It will take young and old alike, working together, to protect the land, water and wildlife that is so unique to Canada.

Read 2017-2018 Annual Report
bird

Retired timber quotas allow for creation of protected park.

NCC negotiated the necessary agreements between the Tallcree Tribal Government and the Government of Alberta to retire the commercial timber quota along Birch River in northeast Alberta. The extinguishment of the timber quota allowed the Government of Alberta to create Birch River Wildland Provincial Park.

A collaborative effort of global importance.

The creation of the Birch River Wildland Provincial Park was made possible through the unique partnership and collaboration of Syncrude Canada, the Tallcree Tribal Government, NCC, The Schad Foundation, the Government of Alberta and the Government of Canada.

The largest stretch of protected boreal forest on the planet.

Birch River Wildland Provincial Park measures 3,330 km2 of conserved land. When added to neighbouring conserved lands, including Wood Buffalo National Park, this area now measures 67,000 km2 — creating the largest contiguous stretch of protected boreal forest on the planet.

Nearly one-third of the world’s boreal zone lies within Canada.

Canada’s boreal zone is part of a wide, green band that encircles the globe’s northern latitude. This biome is characterized by coniferous forest, primarily spruce and pine. Canada’s boreal is unique because of the large number of wetlands and lakes. Nearly one-third of the world’s boreal zone lies within Canada.

The Boreal forest plays a major role in regulating global climate.

Canada’s boreal forests and wetlands are a natural ally in regulating global climate. By absorbing and storing carbon, boreal forests act as the Earth’s largest terrestrial carbon sink, reducing the speed and the impacts of climate change.

Nursery for billions of migratory birds.

The boreal forest acts as a critical haven for billions of migratory birds each year. In fact, 325 North American bird species rely on the boreal forest for nesting, breeding and migratory stopover habitat.

A home to species of conservation concern.

The Birch River Wildland Provincial Park is also home to species that need large, intact and connected landscapes, some of which are listed as federal species of conservation concern — including wood bison, woodland caribou, peregrine falcon and whooping crane.

Birch River sets the stage for future conservation in Canada.

The creative and collaborative effort needed to retire commercial timber quotas in order to establish Birch River Wildland Provincial Park is a prime example of how NCC is working closely with partners to set the compass for future conservation.

Retired timber quotas allow for creation of protected park.

NCC negotiated the necessary agreements between the Tallcree Tribal Government and the Government of Alberta to retire the commercial timber quota along Birch River in northeast Alberta. The extinguishment of the timber quota allowed the Government of Alberta to create Birch River Wildland Provincial Park.

A collaborative effort of global importance.

The creation of the Birch River Wildland Provincial Park was made possible through the unique partnership and collaboration of Syncrude Canada, the Tallcree Tribal Government, NCC, The Schad Foundation, the Government of Alberta and the Government of Canada.

The largest stretch of protected boreal forest on the planet.

Birch River Wildland Provincial Park measures 3,330 km2 of conserved land. When added to neighbouring conserved lands, including Wood Buffalo National Park, this area now measures 67,000 km2 — creating the largest contiguous stretch of protected boreal forest on the planet.

Nearly one-third of the world’s boreal zone lies within Canada.

Canada’s boreal zone is part of a wide, green band that encircles the globe’s northern latitude. This biome is characterized by coniferous forest, primarily spruce and pine. Canada’s boreal is unique because of the large number of wetlands and lakes. Nearly one-third of the world’s boreal zone lies within Canada.

The Boreal forest plays a major role in regulating global climate.

Canada’s boreal forests and wetlands are a natural ally in regulating global climate. By absorbing and storing carbon, boreal forests act as the Earth’s largest terrestrial carbon sink, reducing the speed and the impacts of climate change.

Nursery for billions of migratory birds.

The boreal forest acts as a critical haven for billions of migratory birds each year. In fact, 325 North American bird species rely on the boreal forest for nesting, breeding and migratory stopover habitat.

A home to species of conservation concern.

The Birch River Wildland Provincial Park is also home to species that need large, intact and connected landscapes, some of which are listed as federal species of conservation concern — including wood bison, woodland caribou, peregrine falcon and whooping crane.

Birch River sets the stage for future conservation in Canada.

The creative and collaborative effort needed to retire commercial timber quotas in order to establish Birch River Wildland Provincial Park is a prime example of how NCC is working closely with partners to set the compass for future conservation.

New sights set on conservation.

It’s time to talk boldly about the tangible benefits nature provides, and the urgency and importance of protecting it. Nature is Canada’s gift to the world and we have an opportunity, perhaps more than any other country, to make conservation count. It will take young and old alike, working together, to protect the land, water and wildlife that is so unique to Canada.

Read Our Annual Report

EN | FR
NCC Logo

ENVOLEZ-VOUS AVEC CONSERVATION DE LA NATURE CANADA

Aperçu à vol d’oiseau de 2017-2018

En 2018, Conservation de la nature Canada s'est joint à des partenaires pour célébrer une nouvelle aire protégée le long de la rivière Birch, en Alberta. Cet ajout a permis de créer la plus vaste étendue de forêt boréale contiguë protégée au monde Apprenez-en plus sur cette réussite ou passez tout de suite à notre rapport annuel 2017-2018.

Pour un visionnement optimal, nous recommandons les navigateurs Chrome ou Firefox.

ENVOLEZ-VOUS AVEC CONSERVATION DE LA NATURE CANADA

Aperçu à vol d’oiseau de 2017-2018

Our bird's-eye view is best viewed on desktop. To view our year in review, please click below.

NCC Logo

ENVOLEZ-VOUS AVEC CONSERVATION DE LA NATURE CANADA

Aperçu à vol d’oiseau de 2017-2018

Rapport à nos donateurs.

Please scroll using your mouse or trackpad to take flight with NCC.

DE NOUVELLES VISÉES EN CONSERVATION.

Il est temps de parler sans detours des bienfaits concrets que la nature nous offre, ainsi que de l’urgence et de l’importance de la protéger. Les milieux naturels au Canada sont un cadeau pour le monde entier et nous avons la possibilité, peut-être plus que tout autre pays, de faire une différence grâce à la conservation. Nous avons besoin de l’appui de tous, jeunes et moins jeunes, pour travailler ensemble et protéger les terres, eaux et espèces sauvages qui font du Canada un endroit unique au monde.

CONSULTER NOTRE RAPPORT ANNUEL 2017-2018
bird

ANNULATION D’UN QUOTA DE BOIS D’ŒUVRE POUR LA CRÉATION D’UNE AIRE PROTÉGÉE.

CNC a négocié les accords nécessaires entre le gouvernement tribal de Tallcree et le gouvernement de l'Alberta pour l’annulation d’un quota de bois d’œuvre le long de la rivière Birch, dans le nord-est de l'Alberta. Cela a permis au gouvernement de l'Alberta de créer le parc sauvage provincial Birch River.

UN EFFORT COLLABORATIF D’IMPORTANCE MONDIALE.

La création du parc sauvage provincial Birch River a été rendue possible grâce à un partenariat et une collaboration unique entre Syncrude Canada, le gouvernement tribal de Tallcree, CNC, la Fondation Schad, le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de l’Alberta.

LA PLUS VASTE ÉTENDUE DE FORÊT BORÉALE PROTÉGÉE AU MONDE.

Le parc sauvage provincial Birch River correspond à 3 330 km2 de terres protégées. Ajouté à d’autres aires conservées voisines, dont le parc national Wood Buffalo, la zone conservée couvre dorénavant 67 000 km2, créant ainsi la plus vaste étendue de forêt boréale protégée au monde

PRÈS DU TIERS DE LA ZONE BORÉALE MONDIALE SE TROUVE AU CANADA.

La zone boréale du Canada fait partie d’une large bande verte qui encercle le nord du globe. Ce biome se caractérise par la présence de forêts de conifères, principalement peuplées d’épinettes et de pins. La zone boréale canadienne est unique en raison du grand nombre de milieux humides et de lacs qui s’y trouvent. Elle représente près du tiers de la zone boréale mondiale.

LA FORÊT BORÉALE JOUE UN RÔLE MAJEUR DANS LA RÉGULATION DU CLIMAT À L’ÉCHELLE PLANÉTAIRE.

Les forêts boréales et les milieux humides du Canada sont des alliés naturels dans la régulation du climat à l’échelle mondiale. En absorbant et en stockant le carbone, les forêts boréales agissent comme le plus grand puits de carbone terrestre au monde, réduisant ainsi la rapidité et les impacts des changements climatique

UNE POUPONNIÈRE POUR DES MILLIARDS D’OISEAUX MIGRATEURS.

Chaque année, la forêt boréale sert de refuge crucial pour des milliards d’oiseaux migrateurs. En effet, pas moins de 325 espèces d’oiseaux d’Amérique du Nord comptent sur cette forêt pour nicher, se reproduire et pour y faire une halte lors de leur migration.

L’HABITAT D’ESPÈCES AU STATUT DE CONSERVATION PRÉOCCUPANT.

Le parc sauvage provincial Birch River.abrite également des espèces qui requièrent de vastes espaces intacts et connectés entre eux. Certaines de ces espèces sont désignées préoccupantes par le gouvernement fédéral, dont le bison des bois, le caribou des bois, le faucon pèlerin et la grue blanche.

LE PROJET « BIRCH RIVER » DÉFINIT L’AVENIR DE LA CONSERVATION AU CANADA

Le travail créatif et collaboratif qui a été nécessaire pour annuler un quota de bois d’oeuvre afin de créer le parc sauvage provincial Birch River est un excellent exemple de comment CNC travaille étroitement avec ses partenaires pour définir l’avenir de la conservation des milieux naturels au pays.

ANNULATION D’UN QUOTA DE BOIS D’ŒUVRE POUR LA CRÉATION D’UNE AIRE PROTÉGÉE.

CNC a négocié les accords nécessaires entre le gouvernement tribal de Tallcree et le gouvernement de l'Alberta pour l’annulation d’un quota de bois d’œuvre le long de la rivière Birch, dans le nord-est de l'Alberta. Cela a permis au gouvernement de l'Alberta de créer le parc sauvage provincial Birch River.

UN EFFORT COLLABORATIF D’IMPORTANCE MONDIALE.

La création du parc sauvage provincial Birch River a été rendue possible grâce à un partenariat et une collaboration unique entre Syncrude Canada, le gouvernement tribal de Tallcree, CNC, la Fondation Schad, le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de l’Alberta.

LA PLUS VASTE ÉTENDUE DE FORÊT BORÉALE PROTÉGÉE AU MONDE.

Le parc sauvage provincial Birch River correspond à 3 330 km2 de terres protégées. Ajouté à d’autres aires conservées voisines, dont le parc national Wood Buffalo, la zone conservée couvre dorénavant 67 000 km2, créant ainsi la plus vaste étendue de forêt boréale protégée au monde

PRÈS DU TIERS DE LA ZONE BORÉALE MONDIALE SE TROUVE AU CANADA.

La zone boréale du Canada fait partie d’une large bande verte qui encercle le nord du globe. Ce biome se caractérise par la présence de forêts de conifères, principalement peuplées d’épinettes et de pins. La zone boréale canadienne est unique en raison du grand nombre de milieux humides et de lacs qui s’y trouvent. Elle représente près du tiers de la zone boréale mondiale.

LA FORÊT BORÉALE JOUE UN RÔLE MAJEUR DANS LA RÉGULATION DU CLIMAT À L’ÉCHELLE PLANÉTAIRE.

Les forêts boréales et les milieux humides du Canada sont des alliés naturels dans la régulation du climat à l’échelle mondiale. En absorbant et en stockant le carbone, les forêts boréales agissent comme le plus grand puits de carbone terrestre au monde, réduisant ainsi la rapidité et les impacts des changements climatique

UNE POUPONNIÈRE POUR DES MILLIARDS D’OISEAUX MIGRATEURS.

Chaque année, la forêt boréale sert de refuge crucial pour des milliards d’oiseaux migrateurs. En effet, pas moins de 325 espèces d’oiseaux d’Amérique du Nord comptent sur cette forêt pour nicher, se reproduire et pour y faire une halte lors de leur migration.

L’HABITAT D’ESPÈCES AU STATUT DE CONSERVATION PRÉOCCUPANT.

Le parc sauvage provincial Birch River.abrite également des espèces qui requièrent de vastes espaces intacts et connectés entre eux. Certaines de ces espèces sont désignées préoccupantes par le gouvernement fédéral, dont le bison des bois, le caribou des bois, le faucon pèlerin et la grue blanche.

LE PROJET « BIRCH RIVER » DÉFINIT L’AVENIR DE LA CONSERVATION AU CANADA

Le travail créatif et collaboratif qui a été nécessaire pour annuler un quota de bois d’oeuvre afin de créer le parc sauvage provincial Birch River est un excellent exemple de comment CNC travaille étroitement avec ses partenaires pour définir l’avenir de la conservation des milieux naturels au pays.

DE NOUVELLES VISÉES EN CONSERVATION.

Il est temps de parler sans detours des bienfaits concrets que la nature nous offre, ainsi que de l’urgence et de l’importance de la protéger. Les milieux naturels au Canada sont un cadeau pour le monde entier et nous avons la possibilité, peut-être plus que tout autre pays, de faire une différence grâce à la conservation. Nous avons besoin de l’appui de tous, jeunes et moins jeunes, pour travailler ensemble et protéger les terres, eaux et espèces sauvages qui font du Canada un endroit unique au monde.

CONSULTER NOTRE RAPPORT ANNUEL 2017-2018